Top News

Lobster Spiel attracts 21 teams to Barrington Curling Club


Twenty one teams competed in the 14th annual Barrington Regional Curling Club (BRCC) Men’s Lobster Spiel on Jan. 31 to Feb. 2.

Five rinks were represented during the three day event including Shelburne, Yarmouth, Meteghan, Brookfield and host Barrington, with the teams competing for cash prizes.

In the A Division, the winners of the Ron Leary Memorial Trophy were Elwin Smith, Victor Smith, Herbert Penny and David Leary (BRCC). The runners-up were Jevon Doane, Corey Huskilson, Andrew Blades and Patrick Blades from the Shelburne Curling Club. The A Consolation winners were Steve Walsh, Adam Ritcey, Craig Mac Master and Jeff Rankin, also from Shelburne.

In the B Division, Yarmouth curlers Aaron Sweeney, Wade Newell, Greg Newell and Paul Cottreau took top spot. Runners up were Bill Ettinger, Tom Van Orschot, Ernie Glintz and Laurie Cochrane (Brookfield).

In the C Division, Steven Watt, Greg Smith, Trevor Munroe and Lyndon Peters from the Barrington Club were the winners, while club mates Bob Malay, Randy Chetwynd, Patrick Ross and Harvey Lyle were the runners-up.

The curlers, guests and visitors enjoyed a lobster and steak banquet on Saturday evening, with the signature meal of beans, fishcakes and brown bread available all day.

Recent Stories