Shelburne Flames win Joe Lamontagne bantam A March Break tournament

Published on March 14, 2017

Shelburne Flames win Joe Lamontagne bantam A 2017 tournament.


SHELBURNE, N.S. – The Shelburne County Flames captured their second tournament banner of the season by winning the bantam A division of the annual Joe Lamontagne March Break Tournament hosted by the Cole Harbour Minor Hockey Association March 11-13.

The Flames opened round robin play with a convincing 6-2 victory over their rival Clare/Digby Ravens.  Ryan O'Callaghan, Nolan Atwood, Tylan Foster, Ethan Shand, and Game MVP Jagger Kane all scored single goals for the victors. Goal scorers for Clare/Digby were Nicholas LeBlanc and Nicholas Goodwin.
​  The Shelburne squad picked up their second win of the tournament in their next game by dumping the Glace Bay Miners 5-1.  Cadelin Rose, Maguire Nickerson, Jagger Kane, Brady Nickerson and Tylan Foster all dented the twine for the Flames. Defenceman Cole Nickerson added two assists for the Game MVP honors. 
​  In the last game of the round robin,the Flames fell 1-0 to the East Hants Penguins, despite pouring over 30 shots at the opposing goal.  Game MVP for the Flames was Noah Smith.  This was the first loss for the local squad in their past 20 games.  The Flames still managed to take first place in their pool with a 2-1 record, after a better goal differential in a 3-way tiebreaker with East Hants and Clare/Digby.

Joe Lamontagne March Break Tournament bantam A division: MVP goalie Devon Nickerson, MVP defenceman Cadelin Rose and MVP forward Nolan Atwood.


​  In semi-final action the Flames pounded the Northside Vikings 6-0 to clinch a berth in the Monday afternoon final.  Devon Nickerson and Emma Swansburg shared the shutout between the pipes. Maguire Nickerson, JJ MacPhee, Nolan Atwood, Justin Smith, Tylan Foster, and Game MVP Ryan O'Callaghan all had single goals for the winners.  Lex Swaine added three assists. 
​  The final contest had the Flames up against the host Cole Harbour Wings. It was all Flames from start to finish, despite playing with only 11 skaters due to injuries, as they locked things down defensively on the way to a 5-0 victory.  Nolan Atwood paced the attack with a hat-trick, with JJ MacPhee and Justin Smith adding a goal each.  Devon Nickerson and Emma Swansburg once again shared the shutout between the pipes.
​  This was the second tournament win for the Flames this season, who captured both the Joe Lamontagne and Pictou Memorial tournament titles. 

Devon Nickerson picked up the MVP Goalie, Nolan Atwood the MVP Forward, and Cadelin Rose the MVP Defenceman awards for the Flames during tournament play. 

Up next the Shelburne County team will compete in the Gary Wentzell tournament hosted by the South Shore Ice Sharks, March 17-18.