BMHS hosted badminton Oak Park Open

Published on April 18, 2011
Jason Maxwell and Stephanie Atkinson team up for the Under 19 Mixed Doubles competition at Oak Park Open badminton tournament last week. Kathy Johnson photo

The 2nd Annual Oak Park Open Badminton Doubles Tournament was held at the Barrington Municipal High School on April 12 and 13 with 46 doubles teams from Shelburne County taking part in three divisions of play.

In the Under 16 Division, Daniel Montoya and Jesse Swimm were the   Boys Doubles champs. Scott Swim and Jon Girvan finished 2nd, and Joseph Williams and Jared Brannen finished 3rd.

Daniel Montoya and Haley Waybret won the Under 16 Mixed Doubles Championship. Nathan Rouzes and Kaitlyn Newell took 2nd, while Andrew Hunt and Autumn Cunningham claimed 3rd.

In the Under 19 Division, Stephanie Atkinson and Tara Lee Banks won the Girls Doubles event. Placing second were Haley Waybret and Kaitlyn Newell, while Jillian Kendrick and Franzi Warner were 3rd.

 Blake Perry and Alan Locke won the Under 19 Boys Doubles, with Catlin Perry and Jasmine Hamilton finishing 2nd. Jerid Dexter and Devon Goodwin placed 3rd.

Devon Goodwin and Tara Lee Banks were the gold medalists in the Under 19 Mixed Doubles. Jillian Thurber and Kyler Smith took 2nd, while Jin Park and Jillian Kendrick were 3rd.

In 19 and over competition, there were three divisions of play. In Men’s Doubles, the “C" Division champs were Mark Rennehan and Madeline Greene.  Maurice Shand and Stephen Larkin placed 2nd, with George Hopkins and Austin Nickerson finishing 3rd.

In the "B" Division Earl Goodwin and John Swim were 1st, Matthew Drews and Leisha "Nick" Peters, 2nd, and Steve Nickerson and Tom Boyd, 3rd.

In the "A" Division Chris Messenger and Kent Devine were 1st, Danny Nickerson and Joel Goreham were 2nd, and Keith Cunningham and Monty Smith were 3rd.

 In the Over/Under 19 Division of Mixed Doubles winners were determined in 3 divisions.

 In the "A" Division Stephen Larkin and Isaac O'Neill were 1st. Mark Rennehan and Jillian Thurber placed 2nd, while George Hopkins and Madeline Greene were 3rd.

In the "B" Division Justin d'Entremont and Jin Park claimed 1st place. Maurice Shand and Haley Waybret were 2nd, with Tom Boyd and Jillian Kendrick finishing 3rd.

The "C" Division was won by Sienna Devine and her dad, Kent Devine, while Earl Goodwin and Kaitlyn Newell were 3rd.