Southwest Thunder win novice major gold

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Southwest Thunder major novice team captured the gold medal championship of the N.S.

Southwest Thunder took home the gold medal in the championship game of the Nova Scotia "AAA" Major Novice Series on Sunday, May 22.

The major novice Thunder team defeated the Acadia Jr. Axemen 10-4 in the gold medal game played at the BMO Centre in Bedford. Earlier in the day Thunder had defeated the Eastern Heat 7-0.

Southwest Thunder had advanced to the gold medal game by finishing in first place during the major novice series, which was played over six weekends prior to the championship weekend. Including the championship weekend, Southwest Thunder ended their Nova Scotia series with a record of nine wins, two ties and one loss. Five teams competed in the Nova Scotia major novice series.

The Thunder team is coached by Paul MacDonald, John D'Arcy and manager Terry Beck.

The rooster is made up of: Mason Beck (Bridgewater), Nicholas Collins (Lunenburg), Zach D'Arcy (Tusket), Tylan Foster (Barrington), Jensen Glover (Lunenburg), Jagger Kane (Barrington), Nolan MacDonald (East Kemptville), Devon Nickerson (Centreville), Max Nickerson (Yarmouth), Jeremy Robar (Blockhouse), Cadelin Rose (Shelburne), Evan Saulnier (Melbourne), Teagan Scott (Barrington), Justin Smith (Clam Point), Justin Surette (Melbourne), Brenna Verran (Yarmouth) and Jaden Watkins (Yarmouth).

Over the May 27-29 weekend, Southwest Thunder will compete at the major novice Atlantic Cup in Moncton. They are part of the Atlantic Hockey Group spring hockey league.

Organizations: Major Novice Series, BMO Centre, Atlantic Hockey Group

Geographic location: Nova Scotia, Bedford, Melbourne Shelburne Moncton

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page