Southwest Region accepts provincial baseball honour

Greg Bennett
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Jody Frowely, president Baseball NS presents Southwest Regional Director Roddy Conrad with the Region of the Year Award on Saturday, Oct. 30 in Dartmouth. Contributed photo

The Southwest Minor Baseball Region has been chosen as the Region of the Year in the province.

Southwest Regional Director Roddy Conrad accepted the award during a Baseball Nova Scotia presentation on Oct. 30.

The region saw membership increases with three new associations forming in Clare, Weymouth and Digby.

Highlights  for the year included successful provincial and Atlantic Mosquito AA tournaments in Shelburne; as well as a new completed ballfield in Shelburne, the Albert Acker Memorial Field.

Conrad also noted that Clarks Harbour had its Bantam team bumped to AAA, finishing third in provincials and its peewee team bumped to AAA, finishing second in provincials.

Also this year, Brandon Madden, of Port LaTour made the Nova Scotia bantam all star team and went to Nationals.

Jacob Sweeney, of Yarmouth, won the minor player of the year.

Conrad thanked all the associations and executives and members for the work that let to the Region receiving the honor.



Geographic location: Southwest Region, Shelburne, Southwest Minor Baseball Region Clare Port LaTour Nova Scotia Yarmouth

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page